Bloomers and a Crossover Top

A friend recently asked me to make a pair of bloomers for her daughter. Luckily for me, I didn’t have a bloomers pattern yet and I always LOVE a reason to buy a new one! We decided on the Whimsy Couture No Serger Bloomers. Since she was supplying the fabric, I decided to do a trial run and make a few pairs for my girls first. I had this cute Michael Miller fabric that seemed like a perfect fit.

hummer fabric

I did my first rolled hem with this pattern. I had no idea you could do this without a serger. I have used this technique several times since. The pattern is worth that lesson alone!

rolled hem

Here is one of the finished bloomers.

Hummer bloomers

Then I decided they needed a top. I purchased the Ruffled Crossover Top from Monkeysbug Patterns a few months back but hadn’t had a chance to make it. I thought it would be adorable matched with the bloomers and I had just enough of the fabric left over for the ruffles and buttons. Unfortunately, the size 4 turned out to be too big on my girls. I was a bit disappointed. I finally decided not to close up the elastic waist on the bloomers (so I could easily re-size them later) and save the outfits for next summer. It makes me a little bit sad but it will be something to look forward to.

finished bloomers and top

Oh… and here are the commissioned bloomers. They turned out pretty cute as well!

Kate's Bloomers

One thought on “Bloomers and a Crossover Top

  1. Why an I not surprised at the beautiful hummingbird fabric? It looks wonderful with the gold . Next summer will be here before you know it,
    I resisted the serger for a long time, too. I know once I needed a short sleeved onesie and all I had was the long sleeve. I cut the sleeves and used the rolled hem on my Bernina, stretching as I sewed. It gives a beautiful little lettuce ruffled edge. You know….We have all of these wonderful gadgets at our disposal but the truth is, a good machine, fine fabric and thread, and an afternoon..you can do most anything!
    ( in fact, I think there is a pin on my wall that says that!). Lets see if granny Can figure out how to send it your wayI
    Keep sewing beautiful things for your beautiful girls, love, deb

Leave a comment