Sew-Along

sew-alongI have decided to participate in my first sew-along. I am pretty excited about it!  I came across a Facebook sew-along group that does a Create Kids Couture pattern every month. This month is the Faith’s Shirred Sundress. I chose to do the girl’s pattern but you can also do the tween, woman, or doll version as well. There are some pretty great prizes too!

If you are wondering what exactly is a sew-along, you aren’t alone. I had never heard of one until recently. This sew-along picks a pattern and has set dates in which you have to complete certain steps by. Then you post a photo to show your day’s work. You have a chance to win free patterns every time you post your photo and there are some pretty awesome grand prizes available at the end of the process.

It is still in the fabric choosing phase, so please join me! Just be ready to cut your fabric by this Friday, May 17th. I ordered some new fabrics for it but I don’t think they will be here by Friday, so I dug through my stash to see what I could come up with. I haven’t decided which combination to use yet. I think I am leaning more towards the first one at the moment. What do you think?

Choice #1 – Left two fabrics for ruffles and straps. Right fabric for bodice.

blue white and greysChoice #2- Middle fabric for bodiceLeft & right fabrics for ruffles & straps.

hummers green and pinkChoice #3- Left fabric for bodiceRight fabric for ruffles & straps.

green and doves

I will keep you updated and post photos of the finished dresses at the end of the month!

4 thoughts on “Sew-Along

  1. I love blue but like the middle one the best I think. I would join you but I just had to drop off my machine to get serviced (again) as it was not sewing right at all.

  2. The first choice for bodice is really pretty! But will the black and white pattern look good next to the brown sprigs?

  3. The color is way off in the photo. I need to work on my fabric photography skills! I tried to adjust it but when I fixed one fabric the other one was off. It is actually a nice grey that looks beautiful against the blue. The brown sprigs are pretty close in color to the photo but doesn’t seem to stick out as much in person. I would say white sprig is actually the dominant one in the fabric!

Leave a Reply

