Sewing With Toddlers Afoot

You may be wondering how I get any sewing done with two 3 year olds and an almost 2 year old? Well, I only just now figured it out. They may not have been mature enough for me to do it six months ago. I don’t know for sure because I didn’t try it then.  I suspect I would not have accomplished as much. However, I could have done something! If you think your kids are too young, give it a try. If it doesn’t work, then try again every few months. You will get there!

Here is how I do it:

1-      My downstairs (where I sew) looks like a preschool. There is no lack of toys, art supplies, and dress up clothes. They can access most of it by themselves.

2-      My sewing machine is on my kitchen table where I can see the entire floor and them at all times.

backyard3-      My sewing machine is also next to the back door. I have a small area accessed by this door fenced off just for the kids. It was only sod when we moved in so we made it toddler proof down to the plants. It looks like a preschool playground.

4-      I am lucky enough to have 10 hours to myself each week while my kids are at Mother’s Day Out.

toddler trashed house5-      I am willing to let my house look like a wreck during the day.

6-      I am learning that all my ducks don’t always have to be in a row and some projects actually can wait until tomorrow (the hardest part for me.)

M in costume

7-  I have started to realize that my kids don’t actually need my full attention constantly. I used to feel like I always had to be reading them a book or doing art projects. They are now learning to use their imaginations (and getting really good at it.) They don’t seem any less happy. In fact, they are probably happier because Mom is!

8-      Mickey Mouse Clubhouse

mmch

This is just what works for me. I know there are many ways to accomplish this. Don’t get discouraged if it takes a few (or a lot of) false starts. Find what works for you. Remember, women have been sewing with kids at their feet for ages.

One thought on “Sewing With Toddlers Afoot

  1. I heard Naomi say to John this morning as we all were leaving to take me to the airport and you all to the market…. Daddy can we just have a stay at home day? You guys have made it a safe secure and loving dream place for children. Glad you have found this new sewing love. Like your Mom, we must have our creative outlets to be happy and fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

