Sewing Pattern Virgin

Back in 2010, when I first bought my sewing machine, I also bought some fabric. I had dreams of making cute little matching outfits for my then one year old twin girls out of this fabric. Not having any idea how much fabric was needed to do this, I only bought one yard of each of them, seven different designs in all. They sat packed away for a couple of years until I pulled one of them out to put the ruffles on the girls’ jeans. See my very first post for this tutorial.

McCalls patternI still had six yards (of six different fabrics) left so I decided it was time to buy a pattern and finally put them to use. I chose the McCalls pattern M6387 (it was labeled as easy) from the Ruffles and Lace Treasured Collection and brought it home as my next project.
Well, as most of you have already guessed, I didn’t have near enough of any one fabric to make the clothes. So I packed the pattern away with the fabric and moved on. A few weeks ago I decided I was going to make some new outfits for my girls. Maya is really into tigers and Naomi loves Spider-Man. Do you know how hard it is to find girls’ clothes with tigers and Spider-Man on them? It is impossible. They don’t exist… anywhere. Until now!

spiderman and tigerI dug out that McCall’s pattern and got the fabric requirements for their size which is conveniently located on the back (Maybe I should have noticed that before, huh!) I got online and let my girls pick out which tiger and Spider-Man fabrics they liked best and placed the orders. The girls were so excited when it came in the mail. I knew this was going to be a fun project. That weekend, I went to the fabric store and chose some coordinating fabrics and got to work.

Alright, as promised in my Making Baby Blankets post, here is my attempt at a fabric list:

– “Tigers” (in long grass) designed for Exclusively Quilters

– “Tigers” (faces) designed for Exclusively Quilters  – Both tiger fabrics have the same name. Very confusing!

– I bought the rust colored fabric used on the Tiger outfit from JoAnn’s but I don’t know its name! So sorry!

– Red Spiderman Spider Sense Wall Crawler from Springs Creative

– Keepsake Calico Fabric – Tonal Swirled Stars Navy from JoAnn’s

The patterns were much more difficult than online photo tutorials. There was a steep learning curve with the new lingo but with the internet close at hand, I figured it out and finally finished the first set. The second one only took half the time! I am now no longer intimidated by store patterns though I am not sure it is going to be my favorite way to sew. I will make the other pieces that came in the package eventually. I can’t let them just sit there calling my name and not doing anything about it!

Overall, I think it took me about a week and a half of sewing. I completed most of it while the kids were either running around me or at Mother’s Day Out (Ahhh. My quiet time.) Occasionally, I sew at night but I usually find I am too tired once the kids are in bed (Yea! Even more quiet time.)girls sleeping

I may go back and redo the aprons. I haven’t decided if it’s worth it. They are not as full and “ruffly” as I would like.

aprons

I will wait and see how much it bothers me or if I can just let it go and move on. Or if I really want to do some sewing one day and don’t have any new projects available!

The best part of the whole process was the excitement of my girls when they tried them on, twirled around, and Naomi exclaimed that these were “the best dancing outfits ever!”

dancing

Leave a Reply

